Peerceptiv is designed so that students can upload their own work and move through the reviewing process without instructors needing to do anything. There are a few situations where an instructor may need to manage student submissions. If you have any questions, please reach out by email to email@example.com.
The two most common things you may need to do with student submissions are to:
If a reviewer flags a submission:
If the reviewer reports that they cannot open or view a submission, you can approve (sustain) the report and the submission will be automatically deleted and pulled from the reviewing queue. If the report is incorrect, you can reject (overrule) the report and the reviewer will be required to continue reviewing it.
It is almost always better to have a student flag a submission and then approve the report, rather than delete it on your own, because the reporting process allows the student who uploaded the corrupt document to replace their submission even if they already started reviewing.
Before you sustain (approve) the report and delete the document, please check to see if there are any reviews already on that document. To do that, from the Progress screen, click on the submitter's name. Then click Reviews Received. If there are reviews on the document, those will also be deleted when the submission is deleted. You may want to contact those students that they will need to do an additional review for full task score credit.
If a student needs to replace or delete their submission:
Students can upload their own work and replace it themselves if the submission period is still open. In sync mode assignments, students can delete previous submissions and replace them with a new submission as many times as needed until the deadline. A student who has yet to submit can submit until 24 hours before the reviewing deadline but they cannot replace a submission after the submission deadline and they cannot upload a new submission if they have started reviewing.
In async mode assignments, students are unable to replace their submission after it has been submitted. Instructors can push the student’s results, which will then allow the student to restart the assignment and submit again.
To replace or delete work for a student, click on Progress on the left navigation bar and then on the row with the student’s name what you are submitting for. Click the trash can icon next to Manage Submission in order to delete it. This will delete any reviews done on that submission.
*Please be aware that it is not possible to replace or upload a new submission if the student has already started reviewing. Students are always blocked from submitting if they have started reviewing, even if you delete their submission for them. If you delete a student's submission but they have already started reviewing, you will need to delete the reviews they have done before they can upload a new submission. You can click on the student's name in the Progress table, then go to the Reviews Sent tab and use the trash can icon to delete the reviews the student has given or sent.
If you replace the submission, you will need to upload the file or enter the URL or text and then confirm that it is correct. The only alternative to deleting completed student reviews is to edit the deadlines so the submission deadline is in the future, submit for the student, and then restore the original deadlines. This will change the assignment phase for all students in the class, so please turn off email notifications and work as quickly as possible to restore the correct assignment phase and deadlines.
- If you delete the submission, you will delete any reviews on that submission. This may require you to first see who completed reviews and contact them that they have an additional review to complete.
- If the student whose submission was deleted has already begun reviewing, they will not be able to upload a new submission until the reviews they have completed are also deleted.
If you need assistance with this process, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.